MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF LUFKIN, TEXAS, HELD ON 13th DAY OF OCT., 1965, AT 10:00 AM

On the 13th day of October, 1965, the City Commission of the City of Lufkin, Texas, convened in special meeting in the regular meeting place of said City, with following members thereof, to-wit:

Mayor
Commissioner, Ward No. 1
Commissioner, Ward No. 2
Commissioner, Ward No. 3
Commissioner, Ward No. 4
City Manager
City Attorney
City Secretary

being present, constituting a quorum, when the following business was transacted:

- 1. Meeting opened with prayer by Mayor Jim Waters.
- 2. Mayor Waters stated the Special Meeting was called for the purpose of canvassing returns of Special Election held on Oct. 12, 1965, to determine if a Commission should be chosen to frame a new Charter and to elect 15 members of such Commission.

The results of the Election which were read by Mayor Waters were as follows:

Proposition No. 1:

"Shall a Commission be chosen to frame a - new Charter."

Proposition No. 2:

The fifteen candidates receiving the highest vote were:

Reagan Parker	183
Walter Atwell	184
Carl Lively	186
Harold E. Kaemmerling	180
E. Lynn Metteauer	180
Edgar C. Wareing	184
E. Gordon Horn	201
Mrs.B.E. Atkinson, Jr.	182
Rev. H. E. Small	192
William Drew Perkins	185
Dr. George Thannisch	195
Mrs. Jeff Noble	186
Bayo Hopper	196
Wyatt Leinart	189
Joe W. Stegall	181

In addition to the above there were 61 write-in candidates receiving from 1 to 10 votes.

Commissioner Byron McNeil made motion that results of Proposition I and 2 given above be declared official, in that Proposition I carried by a majority of 89 votes, and the 15 candidates listed above be declared members of the Charter Commission. Motion seconded by Commissioner H. E. Rowin and a unanimous affirmative vote was recorded.

3. There being no further business for consideration, meeting was adjourned at 10:15 A.M.

Lufkin, Texas

ATTEST:

City Secretary - City of Lufkin, Texas